Meet our Volunteers...


I haven’t volunteered for the Manchester Down's Syndrome Society for too long but when I have, I’ve loved every single minute of it.

I started off by taking pictures for Chatterbox and now I volunteer in the Arts & Crafts and adult's social events.



My name is Rachel, I am originally from Ireland, but moved to Manchester in 2021 to study a master’s course at The University of Manchester. I completed my course in the Psychology of Education and I now work for Bangor University as a research officer.

We are currently implementing a literacy intervention for Key Stage 2 pupils struggling post-Covid across Wales and England.

I started volunteering for SMDSSG in September 2022 as part of their Saturday Chatterbox, I am really enjoying it so far, I can see how much support and joy it provides for those attending, and I look forward to the next meet up!


My name is Josie and I am currently employed by a wonderful organisation known as L’Arche Manchester.

It is a charity which helps adults with learning disabilities to live independently. I adore volunteering at SMDSSG, you are all so wonderful and such fun to be with.

I very much look forward to getting to know you all better in the coming months.


My name is Jennifer. I am a full time mummy for a child with special needs so I know how important an organisation like this is for children and parents for children with additional needs. I began volunteering this year for chatterbox doing all the glitter makeup and I love helping make everyone smile. Since then I've helped out at events like taking the children bowling which was such a lovely experience which gives the children lots of fun and laughter. Ester has created such a beautiful organisation which provides so much happiness and im so proud to say I'm a part of and I'm looking forward to helping out more at future events.


Hi I’m Emma! I am so thrilled to be able to support the charity. My little girl Georgia has Down syndrome and we are so grateful for the friendships and support the charity has given us. I am an occupational therapist currently working at stepping hill hospital it’s a very physical hands on job and I love it! I also love baking, long walks, the beach and picnics. I am looking forward to taking partin future volunteering events the charity are organising.


Hi, I'm Danielle. I’m 32, from Manchester and a TA.

Hobbies: reading, music, travelling, cats etc.